JStudio’s mission is to provide quality services through the implementation of a value-added approach at all phases of work.  Our efforts are directed towards creating quality projects, building lasting client relationships, and positively affecting the industry and communities in which we work.


Tim Johnson, PLA, LEED AP, President

Tim is the President and Owner of JStudio LA, LLC, a registered landscape architect in Arizona, California, Utah, and New Mexico, and a LEED Accredited Professional (LEED AP). Tim’s experience with previous firms over the past 20+ years includes direction and oversight of landscape architecture, site planning and design, graphic communications, construction document preparation, and construction administration for projects throughout the Southwestern United States.

Tim is a native of the Sonoran Desert and is inspired by his experience working and living throughout the western U.S., Midwestern U.S., Alaska, and Europe. His strengths include his ability to provide creative solutions that meet our clients' project needs and honor the environment within which they are designed.

When Tim's enthusiasm and high energy are not being applied in the studio or in meetings with clients and contractors, he can often be found on the soccer field (coaching, playing, or watching), on one of his bikes, and enjoying time with his wife, two teenage sons, and their dog (Max).


  • American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)

  • American Institute of Architects, Allied Individual Member (AIA)

  • Urban Land Institute (ULI)

  • American Society of Civil Engineers, Southern AZ Chapter (AZSCE)

  • United States Green Building Council (USGBC), Southern AZ Chapter

  • Metropolitan Pima Alliance (MPA)

  • Women in Transportation, Southern AZ Chapter (WTS)

  • City of Tucson Resource Preservation Advisory Committee (RPAC)

  • Pima County Riparian Mitigation Work Group

  • City of Tucson Rainwater Harvesting Technical Advisory Group (Rainwater TAG)

  • Southern Arizona Home Builders Association (SAHBA) Technical Advisory Committee Member